Share Your Complaint About Asset Acceptance Here!

Here you can share your complaint about Asset Acceptance. Please keep in mind we are not the collection company - we are simply an educational website that tries to help consumers find answers to their questions about resolving debts with debt collectors.

Please do not include any of your personal information (last name, phone number, account number, etc.) But please DO be specific about the problem you are having with the collector.

And though you may be frustrated, please be civil! No profanity please.

Use the comments link below to share your complaint.

Comments for Share Your Complaint About Asset Acceptance Here!

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 07, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
debt collection NEW
by: elizabeth

frome 2008 to 2019 asse acceptance colecte mony from my job .frome my desavility frome my tax refuond ive dont no were live in no my corecto name neve sen me a letter or cal me they have orden fro corth they have to returne the mony they colecte frome my dessavility in they neve senden to me they have stop aroun $17k frome stay city in job in i neve knou this acount camen frome l need help because l am ind desavility in l need this mony for live ind pay medication

May 06, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unlawful NEW
by: Consumer

I received a correspondence on the phone for Asset acceptance for a debt of 3k and they could not tell me what and who the debt was from saying I owe this to them, I never remember having an account from asset assistance,, This is absolutely ridiculous to run scams on people and the Law is being responsible for it .... The morale of the story is , the co went and filed a judgment against me in court without me being aware of the court date, that’s so if you don’t show , it shows that the co is in the right because the defendant never shows up, when I received the judgment I bold letters , that I was served in person,, if so where is it recorded that I signed for a judgement , this is not Lawful to do, lie to the courts to get money, and you have no idea what and who you are paying.. if someone had a persons social security number and date of birth , I guest anyone can get a judgement towards them,, absolutely unlawful, -Mrs Miller

Mar 28, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wage garnishment
by: Anonymous

I received a wage garnishment from asset acceptance, my bank accepted it, it does not have my social security, the person that is suppose to be me has a different address, I researched my side, i don't have any outstanding dept or collections on my credit report. I went to the bank, and to the county, they just give me a run around, so now I have to get a attorney. this is crazy.

Mar 09, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Debt not mine
by: Anonymous

I received a letter recently from Asset Acceptance stating I owe money for an account that I never had. I do not recognize it at all. I started immediately researching the company online and all I see is horror stories of their relentlessness on debt that is not accurate. What should be the steps that I take?

Feb 11, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
fake debt NEW
by: Anonymous

I have received a letter from Asset Acceptance for a debt that I do not have requesting payment. How is this company still allowed to do this. After reading below I see that they have continued to try to steal money from people, and they think because the put the disclosure on the statement that ripping off consumers are allowed. I tried to call every number I could find to contact them and they don't answer,

Dec 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bankruptcy
by: Anonymous

Due to Asset Acceptance and their garnishment orders I had to file bankruptcy. Even after the bankruptcy was filed they have not released the garnishment with my county court house. Even after I have contacted them twice and they insure me they have. What a joke!!

Nov 20, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
More garnishment after debt is paid
by: Anonymous

ASSET ACCEPTANCE GARNISHED MY WAGES IN 3009 FOR 10.000.00 Dollars it was paid off in 2013 now they are trying to garnish me for 860.00 more saying it was not paid off i filled a motion to have it stopped ny paystubs prove it was paid off. Can they do this to me?

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com

It's hard for us to say. Interest can be charged on judgments so it is possible you still owed an additional amount? Did you get anything stating the garnishment was satisfied the first time? We're not saying they are correct; it's just impossible for us to say one way or the other without all the facts.

See what happens after you file your motion. If it turns out the debt was satisfied make sure they file a Satisfaction of Judgment with the court so it's clear that there is no additional money owed. It wouldn't be a bad idea to talk with a consumer law attorney or legal aid.

Oct 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Untitled
by: Rebecca

Originally my loan was through CitiFinancial - I was on time paying until I lost my job in 2009 due to the economy. I had also purchased a truck through CitiFinancial and well, they refused to reduce my payments and I was sending partial payments but they repo'd the truck anyway saying that partial payments are still a breach of contract. So needless to say I am financially ruined. Two years ago I got a garnishment on my check, filed a motion to slow pay and have been paying ever since. My dad recently passed and I have inherited a funeral to pay for. I contacted Mendleson Law firm who is handling the account for Assest Acceptance to see if if they could take what I have paid on the debt which is close to most of it - and zero out my balance (I've heard sometimes they will take off excessive interest charges). Well they won't budget. The Law firm rep. (Charles) was especially rude - I could have ax murdered someone and got treated with more respect. He basically let me know that I was a piece of shit and should be ashamed of not paying my debt. When I originally took the loan it had credit protection which would have paid my payments since I lost my job through no fault of my own - but no one ever offered to help. My credit is ruined and I will never be able to recover. I know somewhere someone can help me but I don't have thousands of dollars to pay them. I need this garnishment stopped (paying $250.00 month) - so I can have money left in my check to take care of family. Any suggestions? Since 2009 I have tried several times to fix my credit - but it is impossible. No company especially Assest Acceptance will work with you it's all or nothing.. The original loan was taken out in 2004/2005 and here it is 10 years later and I'm still trying to get free...

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com

It sounds like you've had a very rough stretch. Have you though about talking with a bankruptcy attorney? It's possible bankruptcy could stop the garnishment and wipe out the debt. You may want to consider at least getting a free initial evaluation with a bankruptcy attorney to find out. We hope things turn around for you soon.

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
starstar
asset Acceptance and Midland credit Scam
by: Anonymous

Asset Acceptance are crooks and they take your wages from you without you even knowing. They practically ruined my life I lost my car and I almost lost my home I had to go through to court cases to fight them. Tinally won the case with a writ of dissolution. And now they're saying that they don't have to give me my money back I have been struggling for almost 8 months with accent acceptance. they are low down dirty scam artist that by your account from credit card companies for about a penny on account. I hope this company burns in hell for ruining my life. and I'm going to sue this company for all that they have.

Jul 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Asset Acceptance is a joke and corrupt
by: Anonymous

They claimed I owed over $9,000 on a card I did not even remember owning. After repeated phone calls I finally just ignored them then received a summons. We get to court and their attorney does not have any proof other than a affidavit from someone who works for asset acceptance stating that she has "managed the accounts for asset and she knows these records to be accurate." I asked to see receipts or something with my signature. I was informed they would settle for $3,000 dollars. If I make them come back to court with the receipts I would have to pay the full price. We argued a bit and finally I just got up and informed them I had to get back to work,and to get me receipts. Almost 6 months later I received one photocopy of a receipt, it was for a $99.00 air compressor my address was on it but no signature. We talked and went back to court same argument as before except she told me that,that one receipt was proof I owned that card and was responsible for the charges and I left again. 5 months later we are back in court with that receipt she asked me if didn't make the charges who did I said "If I knew they would be sitting here with me while I forced them to write a check." She got frustrated and stated "Well this is the third time and if you don't know and asset's wittiness couldn't at least call to say the couldn't make, I will have to dismiss it, but we reserve the right to reopen it in a year." Then she told me "not to worry they rarely re-open these things." I smiled and wished a safe trip back to Memphis which was 4 hours away. That was 18 months ago. No word from them. So don't worry they will not have proof just go stick to your guns you won't even need a lawyer. While I was there, there were 5 or 6 people having the same argument.

Jul 05, 2015
Rating
star
Debt still showing
by: Anonymous

Husband paid Asset Acceptance over $1200 to pay off old credit card back in July of 2013. Two years later the debt is STILL showing as delinquent on credit report and through the original account. It was paid off, and was not noted to the original creditor or reported to credit agencies.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

The original debt can appear as a charge off for up to seven years from the date that happened but the balance probably should show zero if it's been subsequently paid. (There is some controversy over this with some creditors taking the position that if that amount was charged off it can continue to be reported that way.) To exercise your rights under the FCRA you must dispute it with the credit bureaus. Please read our article about how to dispute credit report mistakes.

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
against the law
by: Anonymous

They sent my debt to collections way after the time it is legal. I got a letter about a class action law suit.

Will they have to take it off credit report ?

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

It's hard to say based on the limited information you have given us. Keep in mind that collection accounts may be reported for seven years plus 180 days from the date you first fell behind with the original creditor. If this collection account is older than that, you can dispute it. Please read our page on how to dispute credit report errors.

May 09, 2015
Rating
star
Accet Acceptance LLC / Fraudulent Corrupt Co.
by: Anonymous

5/9/2015 Stay away from these Corrupteers known as Asset Acceptance LLC out of Warren Michigan.

The entire board of Directors is made up of Former Bankers and Wall Street Crooks !!!

Its best to hire yourself an attorney to represent you against this Fraudulent Corrupt Bunch.

Should you hire an attorney to represent you, you should also file a lawsuit against the CEO and CFO of Asset Acceptance, outside the realm of your original lawsuit.

Chief Operating Officer Rion Needs of Asset Acceptance is who the top Fraudster and Corrupteer is !!

Hope Mr. Needs has a damn good Attorney or Attorneys because - hes gonna need one real soon and more !!!!!

Good Day , Anthony Soprano !!!
and NO I don't ferget about it !


Mar 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Irritating
by: Anonymous

Calls every day around 8:15 A.M. Sometimes two to three times a day. So irritating. Daughter's debt which is too old to legally collect.

Jan 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Asset - IRS Notice
by: Anonymous

I received a letter from the IRS stating Asset Acceptance, LLC cancelled a debit in the amount of $1,992 and I owe the IRS $1,094 in fines and fees. It has to be paid within 10 days. I don't even know who this Asset Acceptance is or what the amount owed is for. I am writing a letter to the IRS explaining this. But I was wondering if anybody else had this issue and if the IRS works with you to solve this issue.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

Did you have some debts you didn't pay back? If so it sounds like they are reporting cancellation of debt income. You can learn more about that here: The Ultimate Guide to 1099-Cs.

Dec 04, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
debt collection
by: Anonymous

I have been called by Asset Acceptance before stating that they are a debt collection and I owe money and better call back right away to settle the matter. Since I don't have any outstanding debts other than mortgage, I ignored them and just assumed they were scamming me. Well.. today after not hearing from them in a long time, I get a letter under the name Asset Acceptance, LLC, stating that they received information that I was deceased and that there were debts that needed to be addressed and that whoever was in charge of my estate needed to contact them to settle the matter. Obviously, I am not deceased! Still.... I have no outstanding debts and have a very good credit score. I would like to know where they got the information that I was deceased unless they have me mistaken with someone with the same name. I would watch out for these people.

Nov 09, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They are thiefs
by: Anonymous

Asset Acceptance has been, in my opinion garnishing my wages for almost two years now and they have stolen over $10000 of my hard earned money. This has caused an unfair financial hardship on my both my wife and I. I am in the process of retaining a lawyer and I am going to sue the s$&t out of them and I am going to get back every cent of my money. They are a bunch of heartless bastards.

Jul 24, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Payment agreement
by: Anonymous

I found out that this company bought a charged off debt from my bank. I have called them several times to settle. Problem is when we come to an amount if the payoff is longer than 3 months they will not give me a written payment agreement. Why would anyone do this without written proof?? Is this legal? Only if the agreed amount is for 3 payments or less will they document it and that they call a settlement agreement. I don't have enough money to pay it in 3 large amounts. I need this written agreement in order to get a license that I need for work. Please advise

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

We agree you should get a written agreement. There's no law that says they have to give you one but it's just good business practice.

Have you tried filing a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau?

Feb 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They haven't learned a thing
by: Anonymous

The BBB is a total joke. The A+ rating is bought and paid for. They are no longer a reliable source of information and it is a waste of time to complain to them because they consistently give the highest ratings to the most abusive banks and credit card companies. Even if there are a large number of complaints they make excuses for them. If someone sees thousands and thousands of complaints on the web about someone and sees that BBB has given them the highest possible rating they simply are not going to bother complaining to the BBB because they have destroyed their own credibility.

But getting back to Asset Acceptance, a 2.5 million fine does absolutely nothing for the people whose lives and credit ratings they have destroyed. The FTC could have shut them down but didn't do it. They are already bragging that this will not have an "adverse material effect" on their business and "admitted to no wrongdoing". I can assure you that during the last 4 months they have continued to refuse to show any proof of ownership of the alleged debt, continued to lie on credit reports, and committed outright perjury in the court system. When they first contacted me

I was willing to make payments but told them that someone else had bought the account from the original creditor so they couldn't possibly have bought it from them. They made no effort to investigate it, demanded a payment that they already knew was ridiculous and impossible and then filed suit and lied in their affidavit. If they think their problems are over, they are wrong. They have no idea the lengths I am willing to go to in order to make it harder for them to do this to someone else.

Too many of their business practices were not addressed in this lawsuit but the next one will hopefully put them out of business for good, which is what they deserve.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

Thanks for sharing your experience. Keep in mind this settlement does not prevent individual consumers from suing them if they believe the company has violated the law in trying to collect a debt. If you havent' done so already, you may want to free legal advice about your debt collection issues.

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how can i get them to stop calling?
by: eliza

people from asset acceptance identifying themselves only as debt collectors have been calling my house saying i owe an open ended debt from the year 2001. I told them they had the wrong person and they kept calling me. I did some research and was ready for them this morning when they called. I asked the gentleman what year this debt had allegedelly been incurred. After some stalling and more prompting by me told me the year 2001. I said this is 2012 so unless you have managed to obtain some kind of false judgement against me they should cease and desist calling me. I have repeatly asked them to send something in writing if they thought I owed this bill. They have not. He got rude and said I was obligated to pay this bill and did I remember talking to the original creditor. I do not. I ended the call by telling him if he wants to try to sue me go ahead but if he called my house again I would write a letter to everyone but Santa Claus to get his unethical, bottom feeding company to leave me alone. Is there anything else I can do short of changing my phone number?

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Asset Acceptance Complaints.

Learn how debt collection laws can help you!
This website does not provide legal advice.
All information is for educational purposes only.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 by Mary Reed and Gerri Detweiler.
All rights reserved.
Read our Privacy Policy here