Statue of limitations on credit card in Louisiana

by Jo
(New Orlean, la)

What is the statue of limitations on a credit card debt in Louisiana?

Comments for Statue of limitations on credit card in Louisiana

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 15, 2011
Statue of limitations on credit card in Louisiana
by: Debtcollectionanswers.com

According to my sources, the statute of limitations on credit card debt in Louisiana is 3 years. In most states, that time period begins on the date that you miss your first payment on the debt.

You may want to confirm my information by contacting a consumer law attorney in your area who helps consumers resolve debt collection problems because state legislatures sometimes change the statute of limitations on a debt.

Aug 16, 2011
SOL in LA
by: Anonymous

3 years is correct. LA has the shortest SOL in the entire country at only 3 years. Most states are 6 with Rhode Island having the longest at a whopping 13 years.

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Debt Collection Questions.

Learn how debt collection laws can help you!
This website does not provide legal advice.
All information is for educational purposes only.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 by Mary Reed and Gerri Detweiler.
All rights reserved.