Share Your Complaint About Asset Acceptance Here!

Here you can share your complaint about Asset Acceptance. Please keep in mind we are not the collection company - we are simply an educational website that tries to help consumers find answers to their questions about resolving debts with debt collectors.

Please do not include any of your personal information (last name, phone number, account number, etc.) But please DO be specific about the problem you are having with the collector.

And though you may be frustrated, please be civil! No profanity please.

Use the comments link below to share your complaint.

Comments for Share Your Complaint About Asset Acceptance Here!

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 15, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Trying to collect from a deceased person NEW
by: Anonymous

My mother who is deceased as of August 2012 co- signed for dental work for her daughter
in law in 2009.The daughter-in law has stopped paying the debt in 2010, 6 years ago which is past the statute of limitations in California.She is also divorced from her husband as of 2010.
We received letters addressed to my mother about collection of the debt at our address in 2014. We sent a letter back writing deceased on it over a year ago. We are now getting robo calls from Asset Acceptance which we do not pick up because we know their number and received another letter addressed to my Mother concerning the debt. We know we are not liable for the debt since it was My Mother and she is deceased.
Should we send them a copy of my Mother's death certificate? We want to make contact with Asset Acceptance at a minimum and end this harassment.

Jul 17, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Judgement filed against me - But I'm not even the right person! NEW
by: Dave

These jokers pushed a judgement through my local district court to collect $5000 for a case against some guy who happens to share my name. Now my local court (and all the people who work there and know us personally) think that we're involved in some sort of criminal activity. I called these morons and they told me to just ignore it. Right. Can I sue them for harassment or something? This is insane.

Jun 21, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
social security disability NEW
by: Bill Stewart

Asset acceptance has a hold (garnishment) on my bank account. In October 2015 I finally received my disability and was sent a government check for
$ 11,888.80 for back social security supplement back pay from 2010 to 2015. After that I deposited the federal issued paper check and deposited in Arizona Federal bank. The check stated it was a government issued check for back social security supplement pay and the check had to be held for a week until it cleared.
The bank knew it was my social security income, but, let asset acceptance put a garnishment on the account, which they shouldn't allowed. I went to court and the judge released the garnishment in May 23 2016 and we received proof of that action. But, asset acceptance still has the account on hold and the bank says they can't release the funds until asset acceptance releases it, but I can't reach them ever. Any suggestions? william_j_stewart@hotmail.com

May 02, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Garnishment NEW
by: Anonymous

Hello,

I am on SSI and for years I have been filing my income tax, but never would receive my refund. I had decided to file as Married filing separately, and they denied my whole refund, including my husbands. My husband received forms like I did, but his reasons were different then mine. He had information in regards to my garnishments from Asset Acceptance and Hirshberg Acct. Corp, but my letter never indicated that. However, I proceed to call Asset Acceptance to find out what was the garnishment for? I was informed that it was for a sears card back in 2002, but closed out or re-classified in 2003. Ok, I didn't get my disability until maybe a year or so after like 2005. Asset claim they sent numerous letters, and I was told that they had a garnishment on my account, because the court ordered garnishment a year or so ago. If that's the case, I never received a letter from the court stating that my income tax refunds would be held from me. I was also told that they sent letters to last known address, and when I asked what was that address, she couldn't tell me or the last known number because when they get updated information, the old information is not available. She said that they went to court back in 2008 if i recall to garnish my bank account. She was rushing me to get off the phone cause she had another call waiting, and stated that my phone call was non-productive because I'm trying to understand if they had my updated information since 2014, why didn't they send me any additional letters? And she then hung up on me. I will call them again tomorrow, but will speak to the manager or someone in charge. Aren't there statue of limitation on stuff like this? Just the fact that she told me my time was unproductive and she had a call waiting is unprofessional in itself. This company seems like they do a lot of underhanded stuff.

Feb 27, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help please NEW
by: Anonymous

Asset Acceptance corporation is trying to collect a 17 year old dept in for a vacuum cleaner hi beautiful day to pay Truck now they put a lien against my home how do I stop them

Feb 16, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Asset acceptance is horrible NEW
by: Anonymous

My husband late wife had a credit card in both their names and my husband new nothing about it. They were award a judgement in May 2007 and today almost 9 years later we receive a summons from them that they were going to garnish are bank account. We have 20 days to respond. I thought there was a statue of limitations on consumer debt

Jan 18, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Harassing me for a dismissed case. NEW
by: Anonymous

Asset sued in 2104, the case was dismissed.I have court papers stating this. Now the harassment starts all over again. I spoken with an attorney who is taking it up.

Dec 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bankruptcy
by: Anonymous

Due to Asset Acceptance and their garnishment orders I had to file bankruptcy. Even after the bankruptcy was filed they have not released the garnishment with my county court house. Even after I have contacted them twice and they insure me they have. What a joke!!

Nov 20, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
More garnishment after debt is paid
by: Anonymous

ASSET ACCEPTANCE GARNISHED MY WAGES IN 3009 FOR 10.000.00 Dollars it was paid off in 2013 now they are trying to garnish me for 860.00 more saying it was not paid off i filled a motion to have it stopped ny paystubs prove it was paid off. Can they do this to me?

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com

It's hard for us to say. Interest can be charged on judgments so it is possible you still owed an additional amount? Did you get anything stating the garnishment was satisfied the first time? We're not saying they are correct; it's just impossible for us to say one way or the other without all the facts.

See what happens after you file your motion. If it turns out the debt was satisfied make sure they file a Satisfaction of Judgment with the court so it's clear that there is no additional money owed. It wouldn't be a bad idea to talk with a consumer law attorney or legal aid.

Oct 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Untitled
by: Rebecca

Originally my loan was through CitiFinancial - I was on time paying until I lost my job in 2009 due to the economy. I had also purchased a truck through CitiFinancial and well, they refused to reduce my payments and I was sending partial payments but they repo'd the truck anyway saying that partial payments are still a breach of contract. So needless to say I am financially ruined. Two years ago I got a garnishment on my check, filed a motion to slow pay and have been paying ever since. My dad recently passed and I have inherited a funeral to pay for. I contacted Mendleson Law firm who is handling the account for Assest Acceptance to see if if they could take what I have paid on the debt which is close to most of it - and zero out my balance (I've heard sometimes they will take off excessive interest charges). Well they won't budget. The Law firm rep. (Charles) was especially rude - I could have ax murdered someone and got treated with more respect. He basically let me know that I was a piece of shit and should be ashamed of not paying my debt. When I originally took the loan it had credit protection which would have paid my payments since I lost my job through no fault of my own - but no one ever offered to help. My credit is ruined and I will never be able to recover. I know somewhere someone can help me but I don't have thousands of dollars to pay them. I need this garnishment stopped (paying $250.00 month) - so I can have money left in my check to take care of family. Any suggestions? Since 2009 I have tried several times to fix my credit - but it is impossible. No company especially Assest Acceptance will work with you it's all or nothing.. The original loan was taken out in 2004/2005 and here it is 10 years later and I'm still trying to get free...

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com

It sounds like you've had a very rough stretch. Have you though about talking with a bankruptcy attorney? It's possible bankruptcy could stop the garnishment and wipe out the debt. You may want to consider at least getting a free initial evaluation with a bankruptcy attorney to find out. We hope things turn around for you soon.

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
starstar
asset Acceptance and Midland credit Scam
by: Anonymous

Asset Acceptance are crooks and they take your wages from you without you even knowing. They practically ruined my life I lost my car and I almost lost my home I had to go through to court cases to fight them. Tinally won the case with a writ of dissolution. And now they're saying that they don't have to give me my money back I have been struggling for almost 8 months with accent acceptance. they are low down dirty scam artist that by your account from credit card companies for about a penny on account. I hope this company burns in hell for ruining my life. and I'm going to sue this company for all that they have.

Jul 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Asset Acceptance is a joke and corrupt
by: Anonymous

They claimed I owed over $9,000 on a card I did not even remember owning. After repeated phone calls I finally just ignored them then received a summons. We get to court and their attorney does not have any proof other than a affidavit from someone who works for asset acceptance stating that she has "managed the accounts for asset and she knows these records to be accurate." I asked to see receipts or something with my signature. I was informed they would settle for $3,000 dollars. If I make them come back to court with the receipts I would have to pay the full price. We argued a bit and finally I just got up and informed them I had to get back to work,and to get me receipts. Almost 6 months later I received one photocopy of a receipt, it was for a $99.00 air compressor my address was on it but no signature. We talked and went back to court same argument as before except she told me that,that one receipt was proof I owned that card and was responsible for the charges and I left again. 5 months later we are back in court with that receipt she asked me if didn't make the charges who did I said "If I knew they would be sitting here with me while I forced them to write a check." She got frustrated and stated "Well this is the third time and if you don't know and asset's wittiness couldn't at least call to say the couldn't make, I will have to dismiss it, but we reserve the right to reopen it in a year." Then she told me "not to worry they rarely re-open these things." I smiled and wished a safe trip back to Memphis which was 4 hours away. That was 18 months ago. No word from them. So don't worry they will not have proof just go stick to your guns you won't even need a lawyer. While I was there, there were 5 or 6 people having the same argument.

Jul 05, 2015
Rating
star
Debt still showing
by: Anonymous

Husband paid Asset Acceptance over $1200 to pay off old credit card back in July of 2013. Two years later the debt is STILL showing as delinquent on credit report and through the original account. It was paid off, and was not noted to the original creditor or reported to credit agencies.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

The original debt can appear as a charge off for up to seven years from the date that happened but the balance probably should show zero if it's been subsequently paid. (There is some controversy over this with some creditors taking the position that if that amount was charged off it can continue to be reported that way.) To exercise your rights under the FCRA you must dispute it with the credit bureaus. Please read our article about how to dispute credit report mistakes.

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
against the law
by: Anonymous

They sent my debt to collections way after the time it is legal. I got a letter about a class action law suit.

Will they have to take it off credit report ?

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

It's hard to say based on the limited information you have given us. Keep in mind that collection accounts may be reported for seven years plus 180 days from the date you first fell behind with the original creditor. If this collection account is older than that, you can dispute it. Please read our page on how to dispute credit report errors.

May 09, 2015
Rating
star
Accet Acceptance LLC / Fraudulent Corrupt Co.
by: Anonymous

5/9/2015 Stay away from these Corrupteers known as Asset Acceptance LLC out of Warren Michigan.

The entire board of Directors is made up of Former Bankers and Wall Street Crooks !!!

Its best to hire yourself an attorney to represent you against this Fraudulent Corrupt Bunch.

Should you hire an attorney to represent you, you should also file a lawsuit against the CEO and CFO of Asset Acceptance, outside the realm of your original lawsuit.

Chief Operating Officer Rion Needs of Asset Acceptance is who the top Fraudster and Corrupteer is !!

Hope Mr. Needs has a damn good Attorney or Attorneys because - hes gonna need one real soon and more !!!!!

Good Day , Anthony Soprano !!!
and NO I don't ferget about it !


Mar 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Irritating
by: Anonymous

Calls every day around 8:15 A.M. Sometimes two to three times a day. So irritating. Daughter's debt which is too old to legally collect.

Jan 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Asset - IRS Notice
by: Anonymous

I received a letter from the IRS stating Asset Acceptance, LLC cancelled a debit in the amount of $1,992 and I owe the IRS $1,094 in fines and fees. It has to be paid within 10 days. I don't even know who this Asset Acceptance is or what the amount owed is for. I am writing a letter to the IRS explaining this. But I was wondering if anybody else had this issue and if the IRS works with you to solve this issue.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

Did you have some debts you didn't pay back? If so it sounds like they are reporting cancellation of debt income. You can learn more about that here: The Ultimate Guide to 1099-Cs.

Dec 04, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
debt collection
by: Anonymous

I have been called by Asset Acceptance before stating that they are a debt collection and I owe money and better call back right away to settle the matter. Since I don't have any outstanding debts other than mortgage, I ignored them and just assumed they were scamming me. Well.. today after not hearing from them in a long time, I get a letter under the name Asset Acceptance, LLC, stating that they received information that I was deceased and that there were debts that needed to be addressed and that whoever was in charge of my estate needed to contact them to settle the matter. Obviously, I am not deceased! Still.... I have no outstanding debts and have a very good credit score. I would like to know where they got the information that I was deceased unless they have me mistaken with someone with the same name. I would watch out for these people.

Nov 09, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They are thiefs
by: Anonymous

Asset Acceptance has been, in my opinion garnishing my wages for almost two years now and they have stolen over $10000 of my hard earned money. This has caused an unfair financial hardship on my both my wife and I. I am in the process of retaining a lawyer and I am going to sue the s$&t out of them and I am going to get back every cent of my money. They are a bunch of heartless bastards.

Jul 24, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Payment agreement
by: Anonymous

I found out that this company bought a charged off debt from my bank. I have called them several times to settle. Problem is when we come to an amount if the payoff is longer than 3 months they will not give me a written payment agreement. Why would anyone do this without written proof?? Is this legal? Only if the agreed amount is for 3 payments or less will they document it and that they call a settlement agreement. I don't have enough money to pay it in 3 large amounts. I need this written agreement in order to get a license that I need for work. Please advise

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

We agree you should get a written agreement. There's no law that says they have to give you one but it's just good business practice.

Have you tried filing a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau?

Feb 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They haven't learned a thing
by: Anonymous

The BBB is a total joke. The A+ rating is bought and paid for. They are no longer a reliable source of information and it is a waste of time to complain to them because they consistently give the highest ratings to the most abusive banks and credit card companies. Even if there are a large number of complaints they make excuses for them. If someone sees thousands and thousands of complaints on the web about someone and sees that BBB has given them the highest possible rating they simply are not going to bother complaining to the BBB because they have destroyed their own credibility.

But getting back to Asset Acceptance, a 2.5 million fine does absolutely nothing for the people whose lives and credit ratings they have destroyed. The FTC could have shut them down but didn't do it. They are already bragging that this will not have an "adverse material effect" on their business and "admitted to no wrongdoing". I can assure you that during the last 4 months they have continued to refuse to show any proof of ownership of the alleged debt, continued to lie on credit reports, and committed outright perjury in the court system. When they first contacted me

I was willing to make payments but told them that someone else had bought the account from the original creditor so they couldn't possibly have bought it from them. They made no effort to investigate it, demanded a payment that they already knew was ridiculous and impossible and then filed suit and lied in their affidavit. If they think their problems are over, they are wrong. They have no idea the lengths I am willing to go to in order to make it harder for them to do this to someone else.

Too many of their business practices were not addressed in this lawsuit but the next one will hopefully put them out of business for good, which is what they deserve.

Reply from DebtCollectionAnswers.com:

Thanks for sharing your experience. Keep in mind this settlement does not prevent individual consumers from suing them if they believe the company has violated the law in trying to collect a debt. If you havent' done so already, you may want to free legal advice about your debt collection issues.

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how can i get them to stop calling?
by: eliza

people from asset acceptance identifying themselves only as debt collectors have been calling my house saying i owe an open ended debt from the year 2001. I told them they had the wrong person and they kept calling me. I did some research and was ready for them this morning when they called. I asked the gentleman what year this debt had allegedelly been incurred. After some stalling and more prompting by me told me the year 2001. I said this is 2012 so unless you have managed to obtain some kind of false judgement against me they should cease and desist calling me. I have repeatly asked them to send something in writing if they thought I owed this bill. They have not. He got rude and said I was obligated to pay this bill and did I remember talking to the original creditor. I do not. I ended the call by telling him if he wants to try to sue me go ahead but if he called my house again I would write a letter to everyone but Santa Claus to get his unethical, bottom feeding company to leave me alone. Is there anything else I can do short of changing my phone number?

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Asset Acceptance Complaints.

Learn how debt collection laws can help you!
This website does not provide legal advice.
All information is for educational purposes only.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 by Mary Reed and Gerri Detweiler.
All rights reserved.